Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility



Volunteering is a fantastic and rewarding way to get involved with your sport while giving back to your community at the same time.

Every year Hockey Tasmania asks for a number of volunteers to fulfill small but vital roles in the running of our events and competitions, from local junior rosters all the way up to national carnivals and Hockey One or International matches.



Volunteer of the Year Awards

As part of the ongoing effort to improve the recognition and acknowledgment of our vast network of incredible volunteers that make hockey happen, Hockey Tasmania invites every club to join with us to celebrate the Hockey Tasmania Volunteer of the Year Awards.

Around November/December of every year, since 2020, Hockey Tasmania formally recognises and awards the nominees in the following categories:

CLUB VOLUNTEER OF THE YEAR: Every club in Tasmania will nominate 1 (one) person from within their club as their “Club Volunteer of the Year”. This person will be formally recognised with a certificate, online acknowledgment, and publication in the following year’s Annual Report. 

HOCKEY TASMANIA VOLUNTEER OF THE YEAR: Public nominations will be opened for the category of Hockey Tasmania Volunteer of the Year. A sub-committee of the board (one member from each region) and the CEO will review the applications and determine who will be awarded as the Volunteer of the Year. They will be presented with a certificate and a perpetual trophy for this award. 



Click here to nominate someone for one of our Member Awards


The Winner of the Hockey Tasmania Volunteer of the Year 2022 was Colin Pearson.

The Winner of the Hockey Tasmania Volunteer of the Year 2021 was Minka Woolley

The winner of the Hockey Tasmania Volunteer of the Year 2020 was Suzie Calvert.


The winners of the 2020 Club Volunteers of the Year were:

Caroline Fernandez (DiamondBacks)

Damon Cornelius (Tamar-Churinga)

Kirsty Palmer (Canterbury)

Rodney Neville (South Launceston Suns)

Keegan Popowski (Derwent)

Shani French (Scotch Oakburn College)

John O’Keeffe (North West Graduates)

Nic Duffy (Queechy Penguins)

Kath Arneman & Ian Chambers (OHA)

John Trueman (West Devonport)

The nomination period for both awards opened Thursday 24 September 2020 and closed on Sunday 18 October 2020. Clubs were sent the “Club Volunteer of the Year” nomination form to begin consideration of who they will put forward, while the “Hockey Tasmania Volunteer of the Year Awards” nomination form was released publicly to the community for nominations. Clubs were, of course, encouraged to nominate their volunteers for this award as well.

The announcement of the winner will happened in a short ceremony on Friday 6 November 2020, via a video event due to COVID-19 restrictions. The intention is to replace this with a gala celebration at the conclusion of the last Hockey One home match from 2021 onwards.

These awards were not intended to compete with or replace any existing club or competition recognition or award for volunteers.